Marathon High & Foodie?

One of the reasons why I love running races is the high that I get AFTER the race is finished. The impending training deadline and knowledge that I’ve paid a registration fee before a race does not motivate me as much as the race itself. Between the expo before the race, the sense of completion after the race, and the need to top my last accomplishment — racing motivates me to work out harder and try new challenges. Sadly, that high only lasts so long.

It’s been two weeks since the marathon and my motivation is slipping. NOT GOOD. I have been really good this week, but I need to step things up a notch. I have two Jillian Michaels’ DVDs, both focus on (aerobic) strength training, my biggest weakness. I’ve played through both of them, but they are HARD and I’m a wimp. I decided not to play for summer gym membership here at Central because I will be gone for a chunk of August and a chunk of September, so my original plan was to alternate the DVDs with running. The whole reason (okay, not exactly) I started running was because I could do it anywhere. Well, now I need to put that into practice. I suppose it was easier to read my chicklit on the elliptical than to suffer through Jillian Michaels, but I need to. The 15 minutes of the No More Trouble Zones dvd that I did earlier this week made my inner thighs and butt hurt for days! That has to be a sign that it was helping work me out in new ways. I just need to suck it up and bit the bullet. I’m making this public declamation so that I can be held accountable.

I’ve also decided that I should add 20-30 minutes of yoga into my daily routine. Maybe I’m being too ambitious, but it’s summer and I have no set schedule, so why not? I’m going to try doing a 30 day yoga challenge. Yoga everyday for 30 days. I wonder what, if any, effects I’ll notice.

In addition to my fitness regime, my diet has been slowly evolving over the past couple months. I’ve been doing Weight Watchers for the past two months and I’ve lost about 12 lbs. I’m truly hoping that this is the absolute last time I aim to lose any significant amount of weight and some of the changes that I’ve been making make me think that this definitely will be a lifestyle change. Anyway, one of the reasons why losing weight in Ellensburg is so ideal comes down to the lack of fast food restaurants here. I’m talking about higher class fast food places like Moe’s, Jimmy Johns, Tijuana Flats, Chipotle, Five Guys … you get the picture. I basically have complete control over my food intake, since I’m essentially forced to cook 90% of my meals. As a result, I’m constantly looking to find new meal and food ideas, which has led me to follow several food and fitness blogs. They have been such an inspiration for me! Most of these bloggers are runners, close to my own age, who had a turning point in their lives where they realized their eating habits were unhealthy and they needed to lose some weight. From there, each of these bloggers developed super healthy eating and fitness habits that are fundamental to their current lives; some have turned to a vegetarian lifestyle, some vegan, some just eat consciously and organic.

My point? Reading the blogs inspired me to go out and try new foods and new recipes. I’ve been having SO MUCH FUN cooking recently. The other day I made black bean brownies that tasted, in my opinion, better than the ghirardelli ones my family loves so much. Today I made oatmeal using old fashion oats, mixing it with milk, banana, strawberries and mini-semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also went to Fred Meyer and purchased quinoa, almond butter, edamame, and other goodies. I even want to try sweet potatoes, which I’ve never previously liked unless covered in marshmellows and brown sugar!

I’ve been eating nearly meatless (except when I go out or someone else cooks for me) for a while now. I discovered a blog, which is inspired by a book, that is by an endurance athlete living a vegan lifestyle for athletic performance purposes. This intrigues me. I’m not against meat because of moral purposes, I just don’t like cooking meat, it’s more expensive to buy, and I love veggies. I think it would be beneficial for me to look into a vegetarian lifestyle, simply so I make sure that I am getting all the nutrients that I need for a healthy diet. In addition, with my own health issues, I think a more natural diet would also be really beneficial. For instance, I really need to look into the issues with soy and hormones. If soy isn’t good for me, what are other non-meat ways to get protein. I think that if I start expanding my food options, adjusting to a more natural diet, then I won’t want overly processed food and won’t revert back to unhealthy eating habits.

So basically, I don’t really know what my food philosophy is at the moment but I do know it’s changing and that excites me. More to come in the future – who knows, maybe I’ll turn this into a food blog! Hah. :)

One response to “Marathon High & Foodie?

  1. Dad and I just finished watching King Corn. You can get it on Netflix. If you had any doubt about your food choices, you won’t after watching this film. It is very Michael Pollen-esq. I just have this to say: High Fructose Corn Syrup.

Leave a Reply

